Pain Connection Logo

Over one hundred million Americans
suffer from chronic pain

Don't be alone - Join us today!


Sharon Barrett
President: Sharon E. Barrett, BA, Lake Erie College for Women, Ohio; MS, Columbia University School of Social Work, New York. Private Consultant: Intercultural Cancer Council and Baylor School of Medicine, Texas; Minority Womenís Health Panel of Experts Office of Womenís Health, DHHS, Washington, DC and Office of Womenís Health, Office of Minority Health, ONC, HHS and HRSA. Term of office held July 2010-2012.

Alison Bennett Secretary: Alison Bennett, M.Ed., Bucknell University, M.Ed. from Towson University, certificate in legislative studies from the Government Affairs Institute at Georgetown. Served as Director of Communications, International Neuroethics Society; National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) as translating research accomplishments and plans into language for the US Congress and the public; Acting Director, Outreach Partnership Program.

Frances StanfordTreasurer: Frances Stanford, Maryland licensed CPA, MBA-Finance, Hood College, AA-Accounting, Montgomery College, Maryland. Over twenty years accounting experiences at small, medium and Fortune 100 corporations in various positions: Plant Accountant, Internal Auditor, Assistant, Controller, Financial Analyst, Manager-General Ledger, Controller and Pricing Manager and prepared 1040 (individual) tax filings. Currently, a Chapter Treasurer (5th year) for a national organization. Term of office November 12, 2011-2013.

Neil Goldstein
Director: Neil Goldstein, MA, Columbia University, New York. Captain, U.S. Public Health Service (Ret.), President/CEO Image Smiths, Inc., a medical imaging software company. Term of office held from December 2006-2008 and 2008-2010.

Elsie Ferguson Director: Elsie L. Ferguson, M.S., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh's Graduate Division of Natural Sciences' Psychology Department. Dr. Ferguson was US Public Health Service Fellow in Clinical Psychology for four years. She is a licensed psychologist in private practice in Bethesda, Maryland since 1979, and specializes in clinical psycho-physiology (biofeedback, and Neurofeedback), and cognitive behavior therapy in the context of behavioral medicine. Board certified in clinical Neurofeedback and biofeedback, she is Life Member of the American Psychological Association, a member of its Division of Health Psychology, of ISNR (Int'l Soc. for Neurofeedback and Research), and (AAPB) Assoc. for Applied Psychophysiology and Biofeedback.

Past President and Advisory Board Member of the Mid-Atlantic Society for Biofeedback and Behavioral Medicine for a decade, and recipient of its Distinguished Service Award., she was a faculty member of the Dept. of Obstetrics and Gynecology of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, and Dept. of International Health of the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health. Invited lecturer and workshop organizer, she has given many professional papers at state, regional, and national scientific meetings.

Malcolm Herman Director: Malcolm Herman, B.A./M.A, Cambridge University, England. Malcolm is a member of The Law Society of England, Maryland State Bar Association, Maryland Association for Justice and Montgomery County Bar Association. He is admitted as a Solicitor of the Supreme Court in England, the Israel Bar, the State of New York Bar, the State of Maryland Bar and U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland and in private practice in Rockville, Maryland. Board Member and co-chair of the Pain Community Advisory Council of the American Pain Foundation. Spouse is a person with chronic pain. Terms of office held at Pain Connection are from January 9, 2003-2005, 2005-2007, 2007-2009, 2009-2010 and Secretary 2010-present.

Patricia E. Green Director: Patricia E. Green, MS Public Relations, Kogod School of Business Administration, American University, Washington, DC, MA Social Work, Community Organization and Social Planning, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA, BA Sociology, Virginia Union University, Richmond, VA., and founder of The Patricia Green Group, LLC, Montgomery County, MD. She has 30 plus years PR and cause marketing expert, has managed campaigns integral to asthma, breast cancer, and other health conditions; has shown the relationship between poverty, poor eating habits, and chronic health conditions, led train-the-trainer initiatives in underserved urban and rural communities and conducted focus group research integral to providers and patients, and lectures at the university level on the following subjects: Community Organization and Social Planning, Sociology, Anthropology, Organizational Communications, and the Black Experience. Term of office September 2015-2017.

Mary French
Honorary Board Member: Mary French, RN, MSW, LCSW-C, Boston University, Bachelorís degree in Nursing, Masterís degree in Social Work and a private psychotherapy practice in Baltimore and Howard County. Chronic Pain Support Group leader of Howard County, Maryland. Secretary term of office held from December 2006-2008. President-1/2009-2011.

Senator Jamie Raskin Honorary Board Member: Senator Jamie Raskin is an American law professor and politician. He teaches at American University, Washington College of Law, in Washington, D.C. He serves as the Director of the college's LL.M. program on Law and Government. In November 2006, he was elected as a Maryland State Senator for District 20,[2] representing parts of Silver Spring and Takoma Park.

Raskin founded the Marshall-Brennan program at the Washington College of Law. The program allows law students to teach a Constitution course in public high schools in the D.C. area. Raskin graduated from Harvard College in 1983 magna cum laude and from Harvard Law School in 1987. He is a past editor of the Harvard Law Review.

Gary KaplanHonorary Board Member: Gary Kaplan, M.D., D.O. graduated from Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine. Dr. Kaplan, is the founder and medical director of The Kaplan Center for Integrative Medicine, McLean, VA. . A pioneer and leader in the field of integrative medicine, Dr. Kaplan is one of only 19 physicians in the country board-certified in both family medicine and pain medicine. He is also board-certified in Medical Acupuncture and is a fellow of the American Board of Medical Acupuncture. Diplomate American Board of Family Practice Certified, Diplomate American Academy of Pain Medicine, Faculty Appointment Georgetown University School of Medicine, Washington, DC.

Gwen Herman
Executive Director and Founder: Gwenn Herman, LCSW-C,DCSW - State University of New York at Buffalo, Bachelorís degree in Social work. University of Oklahoma, Masterís degree in Social Work. Founded Pain Connection in 1999 and a private psychotherapy practice in Potomac, MD.